Accessibility Bar

Diocese of Sale Catholic Education Ltd. (DOSCEL)


Catholic Education in the Diocese of Sale is a vital expression of the mission of the Church.

Diocese of Sale Catholic Education Limited (DOSCEL) directs and serves 38 primary schools and 7 secondary schools in the Diocese of Sale. The Diocese spans metropolitan, regional and rural areas between Narre Warren and Cranbourne in the west of the Diocese, to Wonthaggi in the south and Orbost in the east.

Our aim is to deliver the highest quality educational opportunities and outcomes for every student in every school in the diocese.


SEE DOSCEL's Organisational Structure

A centralised approach to school governance

In 2018, the governance of Diocesan Schools’ in the Diocese of Sale was transferred to a newly established entity, being Diocese of Sale Catholic Education Limited (DOSCEL).

Our new governance structure allows Parish Priests to dedicate more of their time to the pastoral and spiritual aspects of their roles. Parish Priests are no longer the employer of school staff.

Operating as part of the mission of the Catholic Church, DOSCEL provides leadership, support, and services in the governance role of schools. It is DOSCEL’s responsibility as a governing body to ensure each school and the secretariat maintains and promotes the Catholic identity of the schools in the Diocese while meeting all legislative and regulatory requirements. This includes a strong focus on embedding and sustaining safe professional environments across all schools and workplaces, as well as a commitment to child safety.

Organisational structure

DOSCEL is a company limited by guarantee. The sole member of the company is the Bishop of Sale.

The Bishop has appointed a Board of Directors who work closely with the Director of Catholic Education and executive team to manage the day-to-day operations of the organisation.

The Director of Catholic Education is supported by staff of the DOSCEL Secretariat. These staff members work closely with schools to implement DOSCEL’s vision of students becoming engaged and successful learners who are able to draw on the life-giving traditions and spirituality of the Catholic faith.

The members of the board are:

  • Emeritus Professor Gabrielle McMullen AM

  • Ms Melanie Saba

  • Very Rev Jeff Kleynjans

  • Very Rev Dean Peter Bickley

  • Rev Francis Otobo

  • Mr Garry McLean

  • Mr Martin Dixon

Executive members:

  • Ms Maria Kirkwood – Chief Executive Officer/Director of Catholic Education

  • Ms Debra Punton – Chief Operations Officer

  • Mr John Jordan – Chief Compliance Officer

  • Mr Rodney Kwok – Chief Financial Officer

  • Mr Paul Velten – Chief Information and Infrastructure Officer

Our Diocese